UniSA Sport News

2016 UniSA Sport Awards Night

Posted By UniSA Sport on 30/11/2016

The 2016 UniSA Sport Awards were held on Tuesday night to recognise the achievements of UniSA students and community members who represent or contribute to UniSA Sport.

Held in the Cathedral Room at Adelaide Oval, the night celebrated those who play or volunteer within one of UniSA’s many sport and recreation settings including clubs, representative, community and campus events throughout the year.

After welcoming drinks and nibbles the over 100 attendees featuring club and representative players, volunteers and advisory group members sat down for the formal awards presentation.

Australian Olympian and UniSA alumni Jessica Trengove was the guest speaker on the night, telling attendees about her journey to become a marathon runner at the Olympics, and how her time studying physiotherapy at UniSA was an integral part of the journey.

During the cocktail function in the presentation break, Trengove passed her Rio Olympic team jacket around, showing the Australian Olympic gold medallists written inside the jacket.

Ten awards were presented during the night, including Volunteer, Club Administrator, Male Athlete, Female Athlete, Team and Club of the Year awards.

There were four new awards presented for the first time too, the Blues, Half Blues, Club Colours and Georgie Rowe Outstanding Achievement awards.

The Blues award is the highest sporting accolade for students at the University of South Australia, recognising students who have achieved outstanding sporting success through representing Australia at an international level.

Annabel Gibson (rowing), Isabella Rositano (canoeing), Nathan Bowden (rowing), Madeleine Steele (cycling) and Olivia Parker (lacrosse) were the Blues recipients in 2016.

The Half Blues award recognises UniSA students who have achieved outstanding sporting success at a state or national university representative level while also contributing to university sport.

Sean Davis (ultimate) was the inaugural recipient of the award.

The Club Colours award is awarded to current UniSA Sport members who have made a significant contribution to the development of a university sport club at UniSA over an extended period of time in a volunteer capacity.

Inno Muluji (football club), Angelique Gouvielos (football club), Douglas Howard (tennis club), Adam Bartrop (hockey club) and Annabel Kitto (athletics club) received Club Colours awards for their contributions to UniSA Sport.

The Georgie Rowe Outstanding Achievement Award recognises the achievement and attributes displayed by Georgina Rowe when representing the University of South Australia, UniSA Sport, South Australia and Australia.

There were a number of high calibre nominees for the award, however Madeleine Steele was chosen by the Rowe family as the inaugural recipient for the positive contribution she has made to sport and UniSA.

The UniSA Rock Climbing Club won the Club of the Year award, which recognises the attainment of high standards in sports administration and engagement with the UniSA community through regular participation opportunities.

The Men’s AUG Tennis Team, who was undefeated at the Australian University Games and won the division two gold medal, won the Team of the Year for their high level of achievement at the Australian University Sport representative event.

The Male Athlete of the Year was Nathan Bowden who showed high levels of achievement at the World University Rowing Championships, winning a bronze medal for Australia.

Cyclist Madeleine Steele earned her third award for the night as the Female Athlete of the Year for her achievements at a number of event, including the World University Cycling Championships and Australian University Games.

Jade Tremaine from the UniSA Ultimate Club was the winner of Volunteer of the Year, having shown outstanding levels of commitment in a volunteering capacity to the ultimate club in their inaugural year, and UniSA Sport.

President of the Women’s Football Club, Angelique Gouvielos, was awarded the Club Administrator of the Year for her high levels of commitment and achievement to the club through her involvement on the committee and as a player.

The inaugural Vice Chancellors Cup was also officially presented to the School of Natural and Built Environment on the night.

The 2016 UniSA Sport Awards were a fantastic opportunity to recognise individual’s efforts throughout the year, and celebrate the achievements of everyone involved with UniSA Sport.

Written by Kirralee Thomas